The cholera epidemic remembered one hundred years after the event, as written by a schoolboy James Reynolds from Knockminna National School near Ballymote in Sligo from the Duchas school folklore collection in 1938. Cholera in 1837 People were dying in hundreds and nearly all Ballisodare population was wiped out. Sligo hospital was packed and so… Continue reading Cholera and the Cure
As it's International Women's day, here is a short account of one Sligo lady who was considered ahead of her time for highlighting social issues and provided literary inspiration for the gothic novel Dracula. Charlotte Blake Thornley Stoker (1818 - 1901) Charlotte was described as ambitious, intelligent, vivacious and a social reformer. Charlotte grew up… Continue reading Charlotte Thornley Stoker
Art murals by the talented late Sligo artist Bernard McDonagh on the walls of the back bar in the Embassy/The Belfry on Kennedy Parade, Sligo. McDonagh was influenced by the local history of the street, recreating scenes of Linenhall Street in the late 18 century and early 19th century. In the late 18th… Continue reading Cockran’s Mall Sligo in the 19th Century
The author Bram Stoker's mother hailed from Sligo. Her name was Charlotte Thornley and she lived with her parents Captain Thomas Thornley, Matilda Blake Thornley along with her two younger brothers Thomas and Richard. Charlotte lived with her family on Correction Street now Old Market Street in the town. It was here where she resided in… Continue reading Sligo and the Dracula connection
Sligo’s old buildings – Past and Present
The Provincial Bank was the first bank opened in Sligo in 1828, originally located across the street near the old bridge on Stephens Street. In 1881, a new Renaissance style building was erected on Stephens Street, designed by the Architect Thomas Manley Deane and built by Joseph Clarence.
The facade is made of Mountcharles sandstone with the side of the building made from Ballisodare limestone. It was built back from the street and originally had ornamental railings. After the bank mergers in the 1970’s, the bank is now operated as Allied Irish Bank (AIB).
Provincial Bank in Sligo pictured in the 1880’s with ornamental railings
The building has detailed carvings by DeGroot of Dublin from designs by the architect.
Irish Architectural Archive – < dia.ie >
National Library of Ireland – < nli.ie >
Gallagher, Fiona, The Streets of Sligo – Urban Evolution (Sligo, 2008)
Newspaper Archive – Sligo…
View original post 7 more words