Buildings of Sligo – The Provincial Bank

Sligo’s old buildings – Past and Present

melcoo

The Provincial Bank was the first bank opened in Sligo in 1828, originally located across the street near the old bridge on Stephens Street. In 1881, a new Renaissance style building was erected on Stephens Street, designed by the Architect Thomas Manley Deane and built by Joseph Clarence.

The facade is made of Mountcharles sandstone with the side of the building made from Ballisodare limestone. It was built back from the street and originally had ornamental railings. After the bank mergers in the 1970’s, the bank is now operated as Allied Irish Bank (AIB).

bsh

Bank building Sligo 19th century Provincial Bank in Sligo pictured in the 1880’s with ornamental railings

bsh

bsh The building has detailed carvings by DeGroot of Dublin from designs by the architect.

provincial-bank-sligo-detail.jpg

Sources:

Irish Architectural Archive – < dia.ie >

National Library of Ireland – < nli.ie >

Gallagher, Fiona, The Streets of Sligo – Urban Evolution (Sligo, 2008)

Newspaper Archive – Sligo…

View original post 7 more words

Old Buildings of Sligo Andersons Brewery

melcoo

In 1834, the firm of Davy & Cochran built a brewery on a site at Old Shambles Street now Kempton Promenade off Bridge Street. The business was named Lough Gill brewery and operated until 1842 closing due to bankruptcy. It was then acquired by Charles Anderson. Anderson operated a brewery on Water Lane and transferred his business to the larger site. After Anderson’s death in 1882, the brewery continued to operate for a time.

For a short period, O’Connor, Walsh & Company operated a Sawmills and timber warehouse at the site. By 1889, the buildings were bought by Edward Foley who returned the buildings to brewery use and later mineral drinks production until it closed in 1972. 

In the late 1970’s the Rehabilitation organisation took over the building and used it as a training centre. By 2000, Rehab had moved to new premises and the building was left empty. The…

View original post 267 more words