The cholera epidemic remembered one hundred years after the event, as written by a schoolboy James Reynolds from Knockminna National School near Ballymote in Sligo from the Duchas school folklore collection in 1938. Cholera in 1837 People were dying in hundreds and nearly all Ballisodare population was wiped out. Sligo hospital was packed and so… Continue reading Cholera and the Cure
Art murals by the talented late Sligo artist Bernard McDonagh on the walls of the back bar in the Embassy/The Belfry on Kennedy Parade, Sligo. McDonagh was influenced by the local history of the street, recreating scenes of Linenhall Street in the late 18 century and early 19th century. In the late 18th… Continue reading Cockran’s Mall Sligo in the 19th Century
The author Bram Stoker's mother hailed from Sligo. Her name was Charlotte Thornley and she lived with her parents Captain Thomas Thornley, Matilda Blake Thornley along with her two younger brothers Thomas and Richard. Charlotte lived with her family on Correction Street now Old Market Street in the town. It was here where she resided in… Continue reading Sligo and the Dracula connection
In the Summer of 1832, 186 years ago, an outbreak of Cholera was spreading throughout Ireland. Cures and remedy advertisements appeared in newspapers. The text below appeared as an advert for an Apothecary in Sligo. This may have helped some people as dehydration was one of the symptoms. Unfortunately, as many would have taken this… Continue reading Cholera Remedy in 1832
In 1834, the firm of Davy & Cochran built a brewery on a site at Old Shambles Street now Kempton Promenade off Bridge Street. The business was named Lough Gill brewery and operated until 1842 closing due to bankruptcy. It was then acquired by Charles Anderson. Anderson operated a brewery on Water Lane and transferred his business to the larger site. After Anderson’s death in 1882, the brewery continued to operate for a time.
For a short period, O’Connor, Walsh & Company operated a Sawmills and timber warehouse at the site. By 1889, the buildings were bought by Edward Foley who returned the buildings to brewery use and later mineral drinks production until it closed in 1972.
In the late 1970’s the Rehabilitation organisation took over the building and used it as a training centre. By 2000, Rehab had moved to new premises and the building was left empty. The…
View original post 267 more words