Buildings of Sligo – The Provincial Bank

Sligo’s old buildings – Past and Present

melcoo

The Provincial Bank was the first bank opened in Sligo in 1828, originally located across the street near the old bridge on Stephens Street. In 1881, a new Renaissance style building was erected on Stephens Street, designed by the Architect Thomas Manley Deane and built by Joseph Clarence.

The facade is made of Mountcharles sandstone with the side of the building made from Ballisodare limestone. It was built back from the street and originally had ornamental railings. After the bank mergers in the 1970’s, the bank is now operated as Allied Irish Bank (AIB).

bsh

Bank building Sligo 19th century Provincial Bank in Sligo pictured in the 1880’s with ornamental railings

bsh

bsh The building has detailed carvings by DeGroot of Dublin from designs by the architect.

provincial-bank-sligo-detail.jpg

Sources:

Irish Architectural Archive – < dia.ie >

National Library of Ireland – < nli.ie >

Gallagher, Fiona, The Streets of Sligo – Urban Evolution (Sligo, 2008)

Newspaper Archive – Sligo…

View original post 7 more words