Cockran’s Mall Sligo in the 19th Century

Art murals by the talented late Sligo artist Bernard McDonagh on the walls of the back bar in the Embassy/The Belfry on Kennedy Parade, Sligo. McDonagh was influenced by the local history of the street, recreating scenes of Linenhall Street in the late 18 century and early 19th century.     In the late 18th… Continue reading Cockran’s Mall Sligo in the 19th Century

Sligo and the Dracula connection

The author Bram Stoker's mother hailed from Sligo. Her name was Charlotte Thornley and she lived with her parents Captain Thomas Thornley, Matilda Blake Thornley along with her two younger brothers Thomas and Richard. Charlotte lived with her family on Correction Street now Old Market Street in the town. It was here where she resided in… Continue reading Sligo and the Dracula connection

Halloween in Sligo in times past

 

 

It wasn’t all fun and games at Halloween in Sligo, you could lose an eye!

melcoo

In October 1909, Robert Coulter’s on Thomas Street in Sligo town was the place to shop for all your Halloweve treats, with Nuts, Apples, Grapes, Figs, Bananas and Cakes.

Robert Coulters shop Halloween Sligo Source: Sligo Champion 1909

In 1904 Sligonians could join the Sligo Musical Society and take part in their Samhain musical, described as a romantic Irish Cantata. It was written by Dr. Annie Patterson and won first prize at the Dublin Feis Ceoil in 1902.

Samhain Musical in Sligo 1904 Source: Sligo Champion 1904

Apples for Halloween

At the monthly meeting at the Sligo District Asylum on October 20th 1906, the management committee voted to award Mrs Fox the tender for Halloween apples.

Apples Sligo District Lunatic asylum 20 Oct 1906

Halloween merrymaking leads to assault

Kids today are in danger of losing an eye from fireworks at Halloween but back in 1893, Michael Leonard nearly lost an eye at Halloween for playing an old Irish custom of rapping on doors to warn of Halloween.

View original post 287 more words

Buildings of Sligo – The Provincial Bank

Sligo’s old buildings – Past and Present

melcoo

The Provincial Bank was the first bank opened in Sligo in 1828, originally located across the street near the old bridge on Stephens Street. In 1881, a new Renaissance style building was erected on Stephens Street, designed by the Architect Thomas Manley Deane and built by Joseph Clarence.

The facade is made of Mountcharles sandstone with the side of the building made from Ballisodare limestone. It was built back from the street and originally had ornamental railings. After the bank mergers in the 1970’s, the bank is now operated as Allied Irish Bank (AIB).

bsh

Bank building Sligo 19th century Provincial Bank in Sligo pictured in the 1880’s with ornamental railings

bsh

bsh The building has detailed carvings by DeGroot of Dublin from designs by the architect.

provincial-bank-sligo-detail.jpg

Sources:

Irish Architectural Archive – < dia.ie >

National Library of Ireland – < nli.ie >

Gallagher, Fiona, The Streets of Sligo – Urban Evolution (Sligo, 2008)

Newspaper Archive – Sligo…

View original post 7 more words

Cholera Remedy in 1832

In the Summer of 1832, 186 years ago, an outbreak of Cholera was spreading throughout Ireland. Cures and remedy advertisements appeared in newspapers. The text below appeared as an advert for an Apothecary in Sligo. This may have helped some people as dehydration was one of the symptoms. Unfortunately, as many would have taken this… Continue reading Cholera Remedy in 1832